Tarot suits - the Swords

Each of the four suits of the Tarot has their own meanings. In order to get the most from a reading, it is advisable to take some time to fully understand each of the suits and the aspects that they represent. The Swords are part of the Minor Arcana Tarot card deck. In essence, they focus the grand themes highlighted by the Major Arcana and allow them to be applied to our daily lives. The Swords are representative of our minds and all the associated faculties.

With Great Power comes Great Responsibility

Pictorially, the Swords are easily associated with strength, power and authority. While these are a facet of this suit, it is mental strength and decisiveness that is being symbolised. However, the Swords are also representative of consequence -  each action we take has an effect and we must take responsibility for our deeds, thinking before we act. Perhaps most importantly, the Swords represent a quest for truth – which also comes with its own ramifications. Anyone searching for a truth is likely to encounter obstacles in the form of arguments, confusion and deceit.

Drawing the Swords can represent your ability to cut through the obstacles that are in your path. Conversely, a reversed card can signify mental underdevelopment, highlighting negative aspects of a person’s psyche such as arrogance, insensitivity, intolerance and the tendency towards being judgemental. However, drawing a number of Swords in a reading need not indicate a path filled with problems. Instead, they can act as a reflection of the amount of things a person has on their mind.

A Search for Truth

In addition, the Swords can represent the laws that govern our existence. Swords are often associated with the courts and legal and political decisions. However, behind all this, they are symbolic of how our rational minds deal with things that are imposed on us, our levels of personal insight and awareness and our abilities to enquire until we find the answers we are looking for.

The Swords are associated with the element of Air and with the astrological signs of Libra, Aquarius and Gemini – all of whom are devoted to the pursuit of truth.

  • Tarot suits - the Pentacles

    The suit of Pentacles is often the one that appeals to seekers on a subconscious level.

    7 December 2011

  • Tarot Suits - The Wands

    Just as with an ordinary set of playing cards, the Tarot is divided into four suits, each with their own nuances and meanings.

    5 December 2011

  • Tarot suits - the Cups

    The suit of Cups is one of the four suits that make up the Minor Arcana of the Tarot Cards.

    4 December 2011

  • Creating a psychic space

    We all need to retreat to somewhere quiet, comforting and familiar now and again, whether it is a room, a particular landscape or setting.

    3 December 2011

  • The meaning of falling dreams

    Dreams of falling are one of the most commonly reported dreams of all.

    2 December 2011

Trusted & Secure
Payment Secured By